Home : Blog

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Louisiana A+ Schools Board of Directors has First Meeting in Shreveport

In 2017, after three successful years of implementation, Louisiana A+ Schools has become its own 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. While still supported by the George Rodrigue Foundation of the Arts, LAA+ has created a statewide Board of Directors to provide leadership as they move forward with their mission and vision.

(From left to right, standing) Hollis Milton, Board Member and Superintendent of West Feliciana Parish Schools; Wayne Fernandez, Strategy Consultant for GRFA; Patrick Widhalm, Board Member and Head of School at Benjamin Franklin High School; Jacques Rodrigue, Board Chairman and GRFA Executive Director; Bethany France, Director of LAA+ Schools; Henry Price, Board Member and President of Shreveport Regional Arts Council; Christine Dunaway, Development Associate for GRFA; Judge Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Board Member and President of Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation.

(From left to right, seated) Rachel Locke, Professional Development Coordinator for LAA+ Schools; Dr. Sonia Fields Gutierrez, Board Member and Chief Academic Officer for St. Helena Arts & Technology Academy; Mary Harris, Board Member and Principal of South Highlands Magnet Elementary.

The newly formed Board of Directors met for the first time last week in Shreveport, Louisiana, at LAA+ Lab School South Highlands Magnet Elementary. They had a special tour of this outstanding LAA+ School and observed arts integration lesson plans in action.

LAA+ Board of Directors visits classrooms at South Highlands Magnet Elementary to see how the arts are infused into every subject.

No comments:

Post a Comment